Events

An Evening to mark the Departure and Expulsion of Jewish Refugees from Arab countries and Iran

JW3 or online London

November 30 is the official memorial day in Israel to mark the departure and expulsion of more than 850,000 Jews from Arab countries and Iran in the 20th century. This year JW3 is hosting the official commemoration in partnership with Harif, the UK Association of Jews from the Middle East and North Africa, and Sephardi […]

Lost Jewish voices of Indonesia

online

Tuesday 14 December 2021, 9 pm UK time. Journalist  and author Deborah Cassrels will join us from Australia to explore  the largely unknown journeys and lives of Sephardi Iraqi Jews who emigrated to the Dutch East Indies (now Indonesia) in the early 1900s during waves of persecution and instability in Baghdad. About 600 Iraqi Jews […]

Jews of Turkey – past and present

online

There have been Jews in Turkey since at least the fifth century BCE. Spanish and Portuguese Jews expelled from Spain after 1492 were welcomed into the Ottoman Empire and formed a  Ladino-speaking majority.  Professor Yitzchak Kerem of the Hebrew University will give us a potted history of the community through to the upheavals of the 20th century. […]

How happy are Jews in Iran?

7:30 pm UK/ 11:30 am PT/ 2:30 pm ET / 8:30 pm Europe / 9:30 pm Israel: The 8,000 or so Jews still living in Iran give the impression of being content and protected by the regime.  How truthful is this picture? How does the Iranian regime use the local Jews to improve its image? […]

Jews of Yemen in modern times

How isolated were Yemenite Jews from the general Jewish world? What happened to them during the Holocaust? Dr Dov Levitan will  discuss the emigration of 50,000 Jews and their absorption into Israel (including the Yemenite Children Affair), and the process leading up to the extinction of  the Yemenite diaspora during the past year. Recording here. […]

Alger-Jerusalem: mon voyage interdit (French)

Tuesday 15 February 2022. 7pm UK time,  8 pm France, 9 pm Israel. This event will be in French. Né à Tlemcen en 1947, le cinéaste Jean-Pierre Lledo, juif par sa mère, était l’un des rares non-musulmans à rester en Algérie jusqu’aux anneés 1990. Antisioniste convaincu, sa  première visite  à Jérusalem en 2008 a bouleversé […]

Heroic Hélène of World War II

Tuesday 1 March 2022, 6:30 pm UK time, 8:30 pm Israel time. Thousands of Jewish refugees fleeing to Morocco from the Nazis were assisted by a young Jewish lawyer whose heroism is only now being evaluated. Hélène Cazès Benattar put herself at risk to organise the safe passage out of Morocco of these refugees. Hebrew […]

Nazis and the Middle East

7:30 pm UK, 8:30 pm Europe, 12:30 PT, 3:30 pm ET, Israel 9:30pm. In 1937, the pamphlet "Islam and Judaism" heralded the arrival in the Muslim world of a new form of Jew-hatred: Islamic antisemitism. How did Nazi ideas penetrate the Arab and Muslim world world and what is their legacy today? Dr Matthias Kuentzel, […]

And ye shall tell your children…..

The exodus from Egypt is an opportunity to recall a modern exodus of Jews from Arab and Muslim countries. On the Passover Seder night  we recite he verse in the Haggadah  Shemot 13:8,  commanding “And you shall tell your child on that day: ‘Because of this, HaShem did for me, when he took me out […]

The Jews of Borneo

Tuesday 5 April, 7:30 pm UK time. North Borneo was a British protectorate in the northern part of the island of Borneo. It is present-day Malaysian Borneo, ie Sabah.  Baghdadi, Sephardi and Ashkenazi Jews were integral to the development of North Borneo - as pioneers, planters, merchants, political refugees and prisoners of war. Our speaker […]

How different is Judeo-Arabic from Arabic?

Tuesday 3 May 2022, 6:30 pm UK time, 8:30 pm Israel. Judeo-Arabic is a 'religiolect' that has been spoken and written by Jews throughout the Arabic-speaking world. Although drawing on elements of standard Arabic, Judeo-Arabic has certain features that sets it apart: Hebrew characters, specific scripts and elements of Hebrew and Aramaic grammar. Professor Benjamin […]

Anything but cheesecake!

Tuesday 17 May, 7:30 pm UK time.  The festival of Shavu'ot  begins on 4 June this year. It is customary for Jews to prepare dairy foods, and the festival is predominantly associated with the eating of cheesecake. But Sephardi and Mizrahi communities have their own distinct traditions. We will be joined by expert cooks Linda […]

See a listing of even more outstanding events

Upcoming Events

Screenshot 2022-05-16 at 10.22.42
Pilgrimage to Djerba 2022
Screenshot 2022-03-22 at 20.59.07
A Karaite journey from Cairo to California

Donate

Please consider making a donation via PayPal to our cause, however large or small.

Subscribe to Harif

Receive our monthly email newsletter with our events, talks and videos.

Your data is safe with us and will not be shared with anyone else. Your email will only be used to receive our monthly newsletter or information about our events.

Stay in touch

For further enquiries please contact Harif at the email address below.

[email protected]
07506 033 848

Registered Charity Nº 1186454.
All donations gratefully received.