The secret Jews of Mashad – virtual event

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The secret Jews of Mashad – virtual event

22 September 2020 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Tuesday 22 September, 7:30 pm UK/ 2:30 pm ET/ 11:30 PT/ 9;30 pm Israel.

In 1839, the Jews of the holy city of Mashad in Persia were forced to convert to Islam. In secret, they tenaciously clung to Judaism. How did they do this? Dr Mehran Levy will present a potted history of the community, while descendants of Mashadi Jews, including Esther Amini, author of the acclaimed memoir Concealed, will discuss how their background has shaped them.

Recording here.

Details

Date:
22 September 2020
Time:
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Upcoming Events

Screenshot 2022-05-24 at 15.00.21
The miraculous survival of a Bukharian family
Screenshot 2022-04-29 at 15.56.40
The Colonial Era in the Middle East and North Africa- A Golden Age ?
Screenshot 2022-06-16 at 09.09.19
Jews of Algeria: 60 years since the exodus

Donate

Please consider making a donation via PayPal to our cause, however large or small.

Subscribe to Harif

Receive our monthly email newsletter with our events, talks and videos.

Your data is safe with us and will not be shared with anyone else. Your email will only be used to receive our monthly newsletter or information about our events.

Stay in touch

For further enquiries please contact Harif at the email address below.

[email protected]
07506 033 848

Registered Charity Nº 1186454.
All donations gratefully received.