Summer flavours of Babylon – virtual cookery demonstration

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Summer flavours of Babylon – virtual cookery demonstration

16 June 2020 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Tuesday 16 June, 7:30 pm UK time / 11:30 am PT | 2:30 pm ET | 9:30 pm Israel.

Join Baghdad-born designer, painter, potter and food writer Linda Dangoor in her cookery demonstration. Her cookbook, entitled Flavours of Babylon, celebrates the flavours and recipes of her Baghdadi heritage. Her website is: www.lindadangoor.com.

Recording here

To cook along with Linda you will need the following ingredients:

Cucumber and goat cheese ‘sushi’ appetiser:
Modern take on Tzatziki and Middle Eastern yogurt salads of cucumbers, mint and garlic. You will need a vegetable peeler.

Serves 2

100g soft goat cheese or cream cheese
1 small cucumber (or 2 Mediterranean ones, if possible)
½ a clove garlic, finely minced or crushed
Extra virgin olive oil
A pinch of za’atar (if you have)
Salt and cayenne pepper to taste
1 fresh tomato, diced (for garnish)

 

Masgouf
An Iraqi-Jewish favourite. You will need a bowl or dish to marinate the fish and an oven dish.
The Fish: About a 600g thick haddock loin fillet
or about 1kg whole sea bass, butterflied or 4 sea bass fillets

2 shallots , very thinly sliced
1 large tomato, thickly sliced or 10 small cherry tomatoes cut in half

The marinade:
5 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon tamarind paste (if not available add another tablespoon of lemon juice)
4 tablespoons lemon juice
1½ to 2 tablespoons hot curry powder
3 garlic cloves, crushed
1/2 teaspoon tomato puree
1 teaspoon salt or to taste
1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika

For the garnish
1 teaspoon Zaatar for sprinkling (optional)
1 teaspoon fresh coriander, finely chopped

Details

Date:
16 June 2020
Time:
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Upcoming Events

harif_event03_may2021
Israel’s envoy in Iran
harif_event04_may2021
80th Anniversary of the Farhud

Donate

Please consider making a donation via PayPal to our cause, however large or small.

Subscribe to Harif

Receive our monthly email newsletter with our events, talks and videos.

Your data is safe with us and will not be shared with anyone else. Your email will only be used to receive our monthly newsletter or information about our events.

Stay in touch

For further enquiries please contact Harif at the email address below.

info@harif.org
07506 033 848

Registered Charity Nº 1186454.
All donations gratefully received.