Shanghai Express: Baghdadi Jews in China

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Shanghai Express: Baghdadi Jews in China

27 October 2020 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Tuesday 27 October, UK 19:30/ET 15:30/PT 12:30/Israel 21:30/Europe 20:30

Dr Maisie Meyer, author of From the rivers of Babylon to the Whangpoo will take us on an exciting journey aboard the Shanghai Express. A small number of adventurous Baghdadi Jewish merchants – never more than 1,000 – began settling in Shanghai in the mid-19th century. They accomplished spectacular deeds and made this far away outpost a leading financial centre.

Details

Date:
27 October 2020
Time:
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Upcoming Events

Screenshot 2022-05-24 at 15.00.21
The miraculous survival of a Bukharian family
Screenshot 2022-04-29 at 15.56.40
The Colonial Era in the Middle East and North Africa- A Golden Age ?
Screenshot 2022-06-16 at 09.09.19
Jews of Algeria: 60 years since the exodus

Donate

Please consider making a donation via PayPal to our cause, however large or small.

Subscribe to Harif

Receive our monthly email newsletter with our events, talks and videos.

Your data is safe with us and will not be shared with anyone else. Your email will only be used to receive our monthly newsletter or information about our events.

Stay in touch

For further enquiries please contact Harif at the email address below.

[email protected]
07506 033 848

Registered Charity Nº 1186454.
All donations gratefully received.