Nazis and the Middle East

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Nazis and the Middle East

15 March @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

7:30 pm UK, 8:30 pm Europe, 12:30 PT, 3:30 pm ET, Israel 9:30pm.

In 1937, the pamphlet “Islam and Judaism” heralded the arrival in the Muslim world of a new form of Jew-hatred: Islamic antisemitism. How did Nazi ideas penetrate the Arab and Muslim world world and what is their legacy today?
Dr Matthias Kuentzel, author of the new book Nazis und der Nahe Osten will present new archive findings showing how the image of Jews in Islam changed between 1937 and 1948 under the influence of radio propaganda
and other Nazi activities. Recording here.


“This is a magnificent and important work of historical research, synthesis and interpretation. […] I know of no other work, certainly no other written in Europe and the United States in recent decades,

that so convincingly demonstrates the causal importance of Nazi interaction with the Arabs. ‘Nazis and the Middle East’ will have a particularly strong impact on young academics, journalists, writers and citizens.”

Jeffrey C. Herf

<

Details

Date:
15 March
Time:
7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Upcoming Events

Screenshot 2022-05-16 at 10.22.42
Pilgrimage to Djerba 2022
Screenshot 2022-03-22 at 20.59.07
A Karaite journey from Cairo to California

Donate

Please consider making a donation via PayPal to our cause, however large or small.

Subscribe to Harif

Receive our monthly email newsletter with our events, talks and videos.

Your data is safe with us and will not be shared with anyone else. Your email will only be used to receive our monthly newsletter or information about our events.

Stay in touch

For further enquiries please contact Harif at the email address below.

[email protected]
07506 033 848

Registered Charity Nº 1186454.
All donations gratefully received.