Jewish divas in Iraq – virtual event

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Jewish divas in Iraq – virtual event

15 September 2020 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Tues 15 September, 7:30 pm UK time. / 11:30 am PT/ 2:30 pm ET/ 8:30 pm Europe/ 9:30 pm Israel.

Salima Pasha (Murad) was the doyenne of 20th century Iraqi song. Mas’uda al-Bambayliyyi was the most famous daqqāqa (singer and drummer), performing at family events. Musicologist Dr Sara Manasseh takes a lively look at the legacy of these two professional women musicians.

Recording here.

Details

Date:
15 September 2020
Time:
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Upcoming Events

Screenshot 2021-07-28 at 11.10.20
Iraqi-Jewish Music Series
Screenshot 2021-06-17 at 16.10.27
May he grow up to live in Manchester
Iraqs looted treasure
How can Middle Eastern Jews reclaim their heritage?

Donate

Please consider making a donation via PayPal to our cause, however large or small.

Subscribe to Harif

Receive our monthly email newsletter with our events, talks and videos.

Your data is safe with us and will not be shared with anyone else. Your email will only be used to receive our monthly newsletter or information about our events.

Stay in touch

For further enquiries please contact Harif at the email address below.

[email protected]
07506 033 848

Registered Charity Nº 1186454.
All donations gratefully received.